Question 1: Sin


“Phillip-

I dont mean to sound dense but the post(perhaps im projecting my own feelings tho?) seems to say that we will not ever be good enough for gods grace. I thought that surely if we confess god as our savior and do our best to live by his law that we would get into heaven. Im just starting to read the bible and trying to lead a good christian life…it seems hard to do the most simple things like not judge and be nice. I pray every day more than once a day and sometimes dont even realize im praying. I try not to ask for anything except gods wisdom to show me the proper way. Show me his will. I know im only human and a sinner…temptations are everywhere and sometimes its hard to say no or dont do this or that.

Also, how can i get over the whole “im only human, im going to sin, so why try to be as sinless as possible” phase? Sorry if im bombarding you. Im just new and scared to the real christian world. Lol i stepped over from being a believer to wanting to live a christian life.”

Yeah, no problem. You are not as dense as you believe. We will never be good enough for God’s grace and this is the point. Paul wrote that all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23) and, elsewhere, that we are saved by grace through faith and not of ourselves, it is purely the gift of God (Ephesians 2:8-9). This is why we are to rejoice without end, for we are undeserving, meriting only God’s wrath, yet He gave to us His only begotten Son so that those who would trust in Him would not be condemned, but have eternal life (John 3:16-17). The incredible truth is that you are saved on the basis of God’s perfect love for you, which is seen with the cross of Golgotha on which Christ Jesus was crucified.

No worries about the questions, I actually enjoy them. I don’t think that one really ever gets over the understanding that one is human and is going to sin – I know I have not. We seek to stay pure, we strive to overcome temptation through Christ in us, because it is what our Father wants. We should never give in to the temptations around us and should continue to pull ourselves away from worldly influences. This is impossible for us alone, which is furthermore why we should rest solely on the trust in Jesus to strengthen us, for as Paul wrote, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).

If you have any theological questions for me, you may contact me @ ministeringinlove@gmail.com or through the Ministering in love Facebook page and Twitter links on the left-hand side of this page.

Leave a Reply

